List of Chapter awards

Cal-Neva Chapter grants awards to recognize professional achievement, service, and contributions to fisheries science and conservation. We welcome nominations for candidates in the following five categories:

    1. The Chapter Award for Special Contributions. This award recognizes Chapter members and others for outstanding service to the Chapter.
    2. The Chapter Award for Distinguished Professional Achievement. This award recognizes Chapter members for professional excellence in research, management, education, or publication, or outstanding contribution to the profession, the Society, or fisheries conservation.
    3. The Conservation Achievement Award. This award recognizes non-member individuals or groups for outstanding contributions or service to fisheries conservation.
    4. The Chapter Award of Excellence recognizes a Chapter and Society member for exemplary depth and breadth of professional achievement in academia, government service, or private practice; combined with significant publications and/or conservation activities, and participation in Chapter activities. They must have achieved significant distinction on multiple fronts (professionally, scientifically, environmentally, and as a supporting Chapter volunteer). Those given this award should have achieved statewide recognition as a major authority or guiding force in California and/or Nevada fisheries management and science.
    5. The Chapter Award for Scientific Journalism recognizes journalists whose work is particularly accurate and effective in conveying information to the public regarding fisheries science or conservation.
    6. The Deacon-Moyle Native Fishes Award. Criteria (nominees must meet one or more of the criteria): Advancements in the ecological/biological understanding of Native Fish(es); Advances in the Management and Protection of Native Fish(es); Advancing the image and status of Native Fishes through education. The award can be bestowed on a recipient for either a single significant achievement or for an accumulative portfolio of work (“Lifetime Achievement”) promoting native fish. Eligibility – Priority will be given to AFS members, but the award may be given to non-AFS members who are exceptionally well qualified. Nominating process – Any Cal-Neva Member in good standing may nominate a worthy candidate.  The nomination should be accompanied by a detailed description highlighting the nominee’s achievements and qualifications for the award. Selection Process – The award will be voted on by the Committee Chair and the Steering Committee.  The nomination that receives the most votes will be declared the winner of that year’s award.
Award Nominations
Award Recipients