Award Nominations

How nominate someone for an award

AFS Cal-Neva Chapter awards are listed here.


CALL for CAL-NEVA AFS Award Nominations

Each year, the Cal-Neva AFS Chapter awards individuals and entities for their professional achievement, service, and contributions to fisheries science and the profession.

To nominate an individual or group for one of the awards listed below, please provide a one-page summary of the accomplishments of the nominee that specifically aligns with one of the respective award categories. Please send your nominations to the Cal-Neva AFS email address: [email protected] The nomination deadline is February 14th, 2020 @ 5PM PST.

The accomplishments of the award recipients will be highlighted in the CAL-NEVA AFS newsletter, and they will be publicly recognized and awarded a plaque at the 2020 CAL-NEVA Chapter of American Fisheries Society Conference in Folsom, CA. The conference will occur from March 15th to 17th, 2020. Award recipients are encouraged, but not required, to attend the meeting.

  • The Chapter Award for Scientific Journalismrecognizes journalists whose work is particularly accurate and effective in conveying information to the public regarding fisheries science or conservation.
  • The Conservation Achievement Award recognizes individuals or groups for outstanding contributions or service to fisheries conservation.
  • The Chapter Award for Distinguished Professional Achievement recognizes Chapter members for professional excellence in research, management, education, or publication; OR outstanding contribution to the profession, the American Fisheries Society itself, or fisheries conservation.
  • The Chapter Award of Excellencerecognizes Chapter members for exemplary depth and breadth of professional achievement in academia, government service, or private practice; combined with significant publications and/or conservation activities, and participation in Chapter activities. They must have achieved significant distinction on multiple fronts (professionally, scientifically, environmentally, and as a supporting Chapter volunteer). Those given this award should have achieved statewide recognition as a major authority or guiding force in California and/or Nevada fisheries management and science.

If you have any questions, please contact Chapter President Rob Titus ([email protected]), Chapter Past-President Steve Brumbaugh ([email protected]), or Chapter Awards Chairperson Zach Bess ([email protected]).

A list of previous award recipients: