Scholarships and Grants

Opportunities for scholarships and travel awards

  • AFS Cal-Neva Travel Grant 2018 – Coming soon!


  • AFS Cal-Neva Travel Grant 2017. The AFS California Nevada Chapter (Cal-Neva) Travel Award provides monetary awards for deserving student or young professional applicants to support their attendance of conferences, annual meetings, or workshops. Any member of the AFS who is active in fisheries, environmental sciences and management, or related aquatic disciplines is eligible to apply. Established Cal-Neva Executive Committee members will select up to two awardees.  Selection is based on academic qualifications, professional service, reasons for travel, and activities that are supportive of mission and goals of AFS. Criteria for selection will differ to applicants that are AFS members of good standing, who are presenting their research, and establish financial need. Travel support of $500.00 will be made available to the successful applicant for the Cal-Neva Chapter Annual Meeting. Travel support of up to $750.00 will be made available to the successful applicant for the 2nd half of year for the AFS National Meeting or fisheries related conference.  In addition, all awardees of the $750.00 travel grant must submit an article to the Cal-Neva Chapter Executive Committee, for publication on the Chapter’s webpage and/or newsletter, summarizing the event which was identified for being the reason for travel no later than 1 month after the event. There are two parts to the application. The applicant fills out the Applicant Form (Part I) of the form.  Part II of the application is a separate document and should be completed by the applicant’s academic advisor or employer. The advisor/employer will need to send Part II of the form separately from the applicant. For details on the due date reference the application of the appropriate year. For 2017, both part I (professional form) and part II (employer form) of the completed application must be received no later than July 21, 2017 at 5:00 pm PST.  Note that parts I and II of the application are separate documents. Limit all answers to the space provided.  Additional material will not be considered in evaluating applicants. Please complete the form and email the form as an attachment to the Travel Grant Chair, Shawn Acuña,


  • None at this time.


  • None at this time.