Award Recipients

Winners of past awards

Please download the Cal-Neva AFS Awards List to view past recipients.

In 2022 the Cal-Neva Chapter recognized the contributions of the following individuals:

  • Melinda Baerwald, Distinguished Professional Achievement
  • Kat Dale, Special Contribution
  • Z Zenobia, Special Contribution

In addition, Special Contribution Awards went to: Lisa Thompson, Stephanie Durkacz, Lisa Thompson, and Matthew Young.

National 2020 Outstanding Large Chapter Award to Cal-Neva

We are thrilled to announce that the Cal-Neva Chapter has been awarded the National AFS 2020 Outstanding Chapter Award!  This follows on the heels (tail?) of the Chapter receiving the Western Division Outstanding Chapter Award. If you are interested in learning more about your Chapter’s many activities that helped it to receive these awards, please read the nomination statement prepared by then-President Rob Titus.

Western Division 2020 Outstanding Large Chapter Award to Cal-Neva

Every year, the Western Division of the American Fisheries Society recognizes the chapters that best exemplify a commitment to the AFS mission through their work to achieve the goals of the Society’s Strategic Plan. We are extremely pleased to announce that the Cal-Neva Chapter has been named the Western Division’s 2020 Outstanding Large Chapter! (2019 award, presented in 2020). Cal-Neva last won this award in 2008 so this year’s award is truly cause for celebration! Congratulations to officers, committee chairs, and the entire membership for its outstanding contributions to the Society and its mission during 2019, not the least of which was its role in the planning, organization, and implementation of the joint annual meeting between AFS and The Wildlife Society (TWS) in Reno, Nevada last fall.